Change

Prompt: Border

As I’m sitting here pondering what I am going to write about, the word “border” keeps morphing into “boredom” in my head. So I am going to go with my first thought and that is to write about boredom.

The reason I am choosing to write about this is because I recently saw someone post a quote on Facebook that resonated with me. Of course, now I can’t find it or remember exactly what it said; however, I know it meant that boredom is a result of laziness, and that complaining about being bored and being too lazy to actually do something about it is really counter productive.

At first I rolled my eyes when I saw the quote, but then I got to thinking about the nights I sit at home, bored, so I text my friends to see if they are free only to find out that none are. I get bummed out and put my pajamas on and lay in bed scrolling through Netflix and then eventually give up and go to bed. Sometimes I will go to bed as early as 8 o’ clock if there’s nothing to do.

I recently started a new job which has me working 9 hour days, 5 days a week. I find it extremely hard to get anything done during the week since I am never available during any business hours etc. By the time I get home from work my plans I had to clean my room suddenly seem ok to be put off ‘until tomorrow’…Only they won’t get done ‘tomorrow’ anyway!

I’ve been struggling with a lot recently, especially having come out of an emotionally and verbally abusive relationship, and having lost a few close friends and family. I have had little desire to do much of anything productive. My mom looked at my car  and my room and said “I think the way your car and your room look represent your life”. Ever since then, and ever since I read that quote on Facebook I have been wanting to try and change some things in my life.

First, I want to set a regular sleep schedule during the week. Next, I will buy a planner and plan out my days with realistic expectations of what I can get done with the amount of time I have. I want to try this for a month and check things off that I actually get done. Once the month is over I want to evaluate how I’m feeling and report on how it went.

On top of all of this and sort of unrelated I just want to be healthier. I want to eat better and literally force myself to change my life around. I just can’t sit around the house bored and not do anything about it. I don’t always need to rely on my friends to fill the void of my losses. It is time to put on my big girl pants and grab life by its horns and create the changes I want in my life.

Another thing I would like to add is that this blog has already been a great start to changing things around for myself. It’s served as a healthy outlet for my thoughts and emotions and I have also read many other stories similar to mine and it helps me not feel so alone. I wish I had started this sooner, but I am so glad to be here now.

via Daily Prompt: Border

2 thoughts on “Change

  1. Speaking from experience, checklists are often highly satisfying. I’m a pretty disorganized person, but when I finally find the resolve to put together a checklist, simply the feeling of checking something as “done” can really improve my day.

    Also, yay (?) for messy cars! Mine is a disaster right now. 🙂 I’m actually going to clean it before leaving work today. Finally.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yea, mine was a mess until I finally cleaned out the trash yesterday. I realized I have a monster energy drink problem due to the 15 empty cans. I guess that’s what happens when you have a 2 hour commute at 6am… But I agree, physically checking something off is a great feeling. I am a very visual person so I know I will have to force myself to write it down in a planner in order to truly stick with it and feel a complete sense a accomplishment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

