The One

I turn around to see the back of my white dress. It is a satin dress with thick criss-cross straps and a bow tied on the small of my back. On the front is a lace bodice and standing behind me in the reflection is my sister. She tells me how beautiful I am and we sit for a while just talking. She tells me how she always thought she would get married first because she is the older sister. While her head is down I take her hands and tell her that she will find him someday.

Next we are shopping for my wedding night, flipping through aisle after aisle of lingerie when I find the perfect pieces for my wedding night. Tonight is the bachelorette party. I have never felt this way before. I felt so calm and so certain that this is exactly what I am supposed to be doing with my life.

After shopping we proceed to the bars and end up at a strip club where I am enjoying my time until the thought of him pops into my head. All I want is to be in his arms.

Next I am walking down the aisle. Somewhere Over The Rainbow is playing and I finally glance up from the ground and see him. There he is standing with the biggest smile on his face. No one has ever looked at me that way before and I am overwhelmed with love.

Later at the reception I have a secret that I am keeping. I was trying to find the moment to tell my family. I decided to wait until I was alone with him and tell him first.

Suddenly I am awake in my bed… Still Waiting for my one and only…

via Daily Prompt: Waiting

Leave a Reply

