Barefoot

My bare feet touch the soil. It’s slightly damp but it feels good under the warm sun. My toes wiggle and the dirt slips between them. It tickles. I feel safe here, safe knowing that what lies Underground beneath me is locked away beneath the surface. My face turns up toward the sun and I close my eyes, I feel as though nothing could ruin this feeling.

Moments later my eyes are opening due to a shadow crossing the sun. Clouds, dark clouds are rolling in. Thunder cracks in the distance. It starts to rain harder and harder and the water begins to puddle around my bare feet. The soft, warm soil is now cold and gooey. The rain is washing away the dirt, the surface that held those demons underground is now washing away.

Everything is revealed.

via Daily Prompt: Underground

Leave a Reply

