Struggles of 2016

The extended title of this should be “The Struggles of A 24yr Old in 2016”.

Online Dating:

As if trying to find a man wasn’t already hard enough. Let’s just take all the hard work out of it for them and display ourselves on the internet like a catalog for their picking. I tried a few different sites. I found a couple of dates on Plenty of Fish but eventually gave up after they all turned out to be interested in only ONE thing… I have also tried Tinder which is just a meat market to hook up. I know there are other sites, some even leave it up to the women to strike conversation. Others you have to pay to join and it just does not seem worth it. I’d just much rather be picked up and won over in person than online.

Dating in General:

What happened to the chase? I know sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do, and sometimes that means taking someone home on the first date. I am so done with that. I really want to find something meaningful and it seems like if you’re not down to get dirty right away the interest goes away. I’m sure there are men out there who appreciate the wait and the chase but I haven’t found one yet…

Social Media:

I am struggling with this at the moment. I have really grown to dislike Facebook, Instagram and all social media. The problem is that after having a Facebook for 10 years I have accumulated quite a lot of photos and videos and other memories that are stuck on there. That is one of the reasons keeping me from deleting it all together. Another reason is that I feel like I would loose communication to people with out it. It happened when my sister deleted hers. I think that is really sad.

One thing that really bothers me is that people get so offended over being deleted on Facebook or other social media. It also serves as a way for others to bash people online without fear of the consequences. After the election my mom replied to a comment on her friend’s Facebook and just a simple misuse of words and misunderstanding of what she was trying to say caused multiple women to gang up on her and bash her all over Facebook. They were friends of hers that were part of her Breast Cancer group! It was unbelievable… It is astonishing how much Facebook controls our lives and plays such a role in the types of friendships we have.

Negativity In the Workplace:

At my office there has been a lot of complaining going on. My coworkers often contradict themselves when it comes to their issues, it seems as though nothing pleases them. They complain about lack of change and then complain again when there IS change. They all talk about each other behind each other’s backs and it is starting to create such a cloud of negativity. I wish they would just do their jobs with out expecting some sort of reward over it. They need to separate their social and work behavior. I wish we could work together to be successful as a team instead of fighting to be successful as individuals… It’s like being in high school all over again sometimes.

Relationships:

Relationships in general whether it’s family, friends, or coworkers have been a roller coaster for me this year. So many people have come and gone this year and many of the reasons why were due to miscommunications, lack of communication all together, a misunderstanding, or due to overreacting. Often nowadays people tend to react instead of respond to difficult situations.

I need friendships and relationships where people are understanding and accepting of differences. I need people who are honest, kind, and open to communicate their problems instead of throwing hurtful things in my face. I’ve seen so many grown adults throw tantrums and rant about their problems publicly whether in person or on social media. I’ve seen small situation become life-altering events due to simple misunderstandings.

I am becoming more careful about who I have in my life and the quality of people that are in it.

I would also like to point out the importance of showing people you care about them. One of the biggest and most common factors in the fall out of many of my relationships was due to lack of effort on the other side. It doesn’t mean you have to spend money on that person to show them you care. Simple actions can mean the most and make the biggest difference.

Ego vs. Accomplishment and Acknowledgement:

This is also something that has created difficulties in many of my relationships. I’ve been guilty of comparing myself to others and have also had people compare themselves to me. I believe part of the problem is that some people think they are entitled to some sort of reward for their accomplishments which may be true in some cases, but all too often people are blind to the other underappreciated people around them. Whether someone earns a physical reward, becomes happy, or shows off their success somehow it pisses people off.

Let’s be happy for each other and build each other up instead of thinking the world owes us something because it definitely doesn’t.

Some people are naturally successful; others have to work extremely hard for their accomplishments. Whatever the case maybe there is a difference between humbly seeking acknowledgement and egotistically fishing for compliments and admiration.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

