“Just a circle?”

A simple circle. That is all it is, tattooed on my right wrist. I get comments on it like “why did you get a circle?” or “what is that?” “just a circle?”. I love it when people ask me about it, I just don’t like the initial judgment. It’s kind of a funny story actually.

My sister and I were in Florida at Universal Studios in the shopping area. We were doing the Disney parks vacation with our parents. My sister os 27 and im 24, our parents love taking us there and we still enjoy it as adults. My mom said it was kind of a last family vacation since we will likely soon have our own families to go with.

After a long day of walking around the park our parents left to return to the hotel and we stayed behind to go hit up some bars. On our way to explore the shopping strip my sister joked and pointed out the tattoo parlor and said “well we could get tattoos.”. We sat down at the bar and each had one vodka soda, as we were sitting there I brought it up again and asked her what she would wamt to get if we were to actually serious about getting them. We sat there brainstorming and then all of a sudden we were on our way to the parlor.

They were super friendly and welcoming there I was surprised that they didn’t turn us away. But now looking back they are probably used to having tourists come in like that since they are on the border of the theme park.

My sister and I decided to get an “x” and an “o” on our right wrists. She got the “x” and I got the “o” to symbolize hug and kiss. I’m very happy with my choice.

We actually got away with hiding them for the next three days until we got home. My sister was worried my parents would think she pressured me into getting it, so we had to wear long sleeves in 70+ degree Florida weather. She didn’t want to risk ruining the family vacation.

It is so simple and it means a lot of things to me. I had a really rough year where I felt alone most of the time so when I look down I am reminded that I always have my sister, she is part of me.

A circle is also a symbol of time and eternity, there is no beginning and no end. My grandfather was “grandpa time” and was famously known as that, so I especially love that it reminds of time and/or a clock. It is also a symbol from one of my favorite Disney movies, The Lion King,”the circle of life”. It gives me hope and comfort.

Do you have any unique/peculiar tattoos?

Leave a Reply

